The Myth of “Luck”

Scott Price

Have you ever heard the following statements?

“He was lucky he wasn’t killed!”
“I’m having nothing but bad luck today.”
“She’s the luckiest person I know.”
“Thank your lucky stars.”

These statements and many others like them, we hear on a daily basis in music, the media, and in the average conversation. These types of statements concerning “luck” are a result of ungodly ignorance and the popularity of false religion. Most of the blame goes to the religion that is natural to sinful man: self-righteous, freewill, works religion. I believe the religion of Pelagianism and Arminianism, historically, have added fuel to the fire. They are systems of theology that hate what the Bible says about God’s predestination, foreordination, providence, and especially His sovereignty.

God is absolutely sovereign. This means He is in absolute authority, control, and power, and as a result, does what He pleases, how He wants and to whom He wants, according to His very own plan, purpose, will, and desire. He is sovereign in all things without exception. God has planned things out to the smallest detail, even the details we cannot see or know about. He does all this for His purpose to bring glory to Himself.

The teaching of luck takes all things out of the control of God and puts them in the control of “Lady Luck”, chance, or even Fate. These anti-biblical ideas come from the natural superstitious mind of sinful man. They have created this out of control lady of chance who dishes out good luck or bad luck. The existence of luck strips God of His sovereign power. If God is not absolutely sovereign then He is not God, but rather an idol.

What does the Bible say about the sovereign control that God has?

“..He does according His will in the army of heaven and among all the inhabitants of the earth; and none can stay His hand or say unto Him; What doest thou?” Daniel 4:35

“..I am God and there is none else: I am God and there is none like me, declaring the end from the beginning, and from ancient times the things that are not yet done, saying, My counsel shall stand, and I will do all my pleasure: …Yea I have spoken it, I will also do it.” Isaiah 46:9-11

“…being predestinated according to the purpose of Him who works all things after the counsel of His own will.” Ephesians 1:11

“See now that I, even I am He, and there is no god with Me: I kill and I make alive: I wound and I heal neither is there any that can deliver out of My hand.” Deuteronomy 32:39

Luck is a myth. We must submit to the truth that God is in supreme control of all things without exception. He is the first cause of ALL things from creation to salvation and everything in between. Luck belongs in the same category as Santa Clause, the Easter Bunny, the Tooth Fairy, and Mother Nature. The people of God should not have the word luck flow from their lips. They will only bring dishonor to the name of God as a result. Let’s not be like the superstitious heathen.

Leave a Reply

