Blaming God Or Blessing God?

praise1

Gary Shepard

The Scriptures plainly teach that God is the first cause of all things. He does according to His will in the armies of heaven and among the inhabitants of earth. He works all things after the counsel of His own will. He does all His pleasure, raising up and putting down, making rich and making poor, afflicting or healing….all things! As He does so, the responses and attitudes of men and women to these “all things” greatly reflect their attitude toward the God who sends them. I am not talking about a few words spoken in the heat of pain or the piercing sorrow of grief. Jacob, the man of faith, spoke in haste at a time of great sorrow, “all things are against me.”

I am talking about the individual’s general attitude and response after the initial shock has passed. When their thoughts again are gathered and a course must be taken, what will they say and do? Will they blame or bless the God who is the first cause of all things. If all the second causes, whether they be men, events, rulers, diseases, weather or whatever are blamed, then God is blamed. Our displeasure with providence is displeasure with the One who orders all providence. There is great need to recognize and admit this.

If I am dissatisfied with that which God has ordained, I question God’s wisdom, His love, His grace and His purpose. I set myself above God and by my thoughts, words and actions declare that I could do better as God than God Himself. Oh what practical idolatry!

When all the events that claimed Job’s property, wealth, members of his family and his honor had passed, Job responded, “Naked came I from out of my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return thither: the Lord gave, and the Lord hath taken away, BLESSED be the name of the Lord.” (Job 1:21) The story of Job closes out with these words, “So the Lord blessed the latter end of Job more than his beginning.” Oh the wisdom, grace, love and goodness of God! He is to be blessed in all things and blamed in none. May He save us from our sinful tendency to blame (even through second causes) rather than bless Him. May we bless Him who “works all things together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” (Rom.8:28)

garyshepard

Gary Shepard pastors the Sovereign Grace Baptist Church in Jacksonville, NC.

4 Responses to “Blaming God Or Blessing God?”

  1. mark mcculley Says:

    Pray for David Bazan (used to be Pedro the Lion). His new cd seems to have a honest rejection of what the Bible says about God’s sovereignty. From a song called “when we fell”:

    when you set the table
    and when you chose the scale
    and knew they would fail
    so they would tell the tale
    did you push us when we fell

    if you knew what would happen
    and made us anyway
    then you, my lord,
    can take the blame

  2. Hey. I really love your blog entry and I think it is awesome. I wanted to know where did you get that picture and would you mind me posting it on my FB on a prayer site? I think that it would really be inspiring for ppl to see. It really represents God to me. Totally cool! Okay, have a good day and keep up the good work.

  3. What a blessing this message is! I was laid off this past October and have been dealing with many health issues. There appears to be many uncertainties right now, but the Lord has been speaking to my heart about the fact that He ordains the circumstances in my life, and I had been guilty of “murmuring” regarding my circumstances. I ran from God’s Word and prayer which only made the circumstances and depression worse. I have been back in his Word and been very encouraged regarding Scriptures on affliction. He will deliver me out of all of my afflictions. I am praising the Lord for those afflictions based on Romans 8:28, Psalm 34, and Psalm 107 especially the verses “Oh that men would praise the Lord for His goodness, and for His wonderful works to the children of men” (both good and not good!).

Leave a Reply

